May 31, 2016

SEAM shortlisted for Research2Business Impact KTI Award 2016

SEAM are pleased to announce that they have been short-listed in the Knowledge Transfer Ireland finalists of the KTI Impact Award in 2016.  The awards recognise and showcase the success in knowledge transfer carried out in Irish Higher Education Institutes (HEIs) and publicly funded research organisations across seven categories. Submissions were judged by an independent panel comprising international and Irish leaders in the areas of technology and knowledge transfer. Winners of the KTI Impact Awards 2016 will be announced at a ceremony to be held at the Royal Hospital Kilmainham in Dublin on Thursday 23rd June. 

Research2Market Collaborative Impact Award
  • University College Cork collaborating with Statistical Solutions – Dr Brian O’Flaherty
  • University of Limerick collaborating with Stryker Ireland - Dr Eamonn de Barra
  • Waterford Institute of Technology collaborating with Boston Scientific, Schivo & Lisnabrin -Dr Ramesh Raghavendra
 Consultancy Impact Award
  • Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and the HSE National Programme for Surgery - Prof Frank Keane & Mr Ken Mealy
  • Trinity College Dublin and Monford Ag Systems - Prof Mike Jones, Dr Jake Byrne, Dr Hitesh Tewari, Dr Matt Saunders
  • University College Dublin and Hao2 - Professor Lizabeth Goodman
 Licene2Market Impact Award
  • Trinity College Dublin: Graphene licences to Thomas Swan
  • University College Cork: Probiotic strain licence to Alimentary Health
  • University College Dublin: EMS related technology licence to BioMedical Research Ltd 
Spin-out Company Impact Award
  • AventaMed DAC - Cork Institute of Technolgoy (Academic Founders: John Vaughan & Olive O'Driscoll) 
  • Kastus Technology Ltd – Dublin Institute of Technology (Academic Founder: Dr Brendan Duffy)
  • SurgaColl Technologies Ltd – Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (Academic Founder: Prof Fergal O’Brien) 
Mature Spin-out Company Impact Award
  • Logentries - University College Dublin  (Academic Founders: Dr Trevor Parsons & Dr Viliam Holub)
  • Powervation – University of Limerick (Academic Founders: Dr Karl Rinne)
  • Swrve – Trinity College Dublin (Academic Founder: Dr Steve Collins)
Knowledge Transfer Initiative of the Year Impact Award
  • Maynooth University - Knowledge Transfer Maturity Framework
  • Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland - Building a Knowledge Transfer Culture
  • Trinity College Dublin - Innovation Model for New Ventures 
Knowledge Transfer Special Achievers Award

Details of this category will be announced at the awards ceremony rather than by shortlist.

For more information on the awards please visit 


- See more at: